TutorialThe University of KwaZulu-Natal UK Trust aims to fulfil its objects by raising funds to provide bursaries and grants for needy students at the University.

Following the introduction of new state aid to help cover tuition fees for students from low-income families in 2018, the Trust switched from solely providing bursaries for such students to providing a mix of bursaries for qualifying honours students and meal and textbook top-up grants to qualifying undergraduates.

The Trust does not accept direct applications from students for its help. The Trustees make awards from a shortlist of qualifying students provided by the University, along with details of their family income and academic records.

The Trust’s focus always has been on the individual students it tries to help. Therefore, the Trustees try to correspond with bursars and obtain feedback on their hopes, ambitions and progress with their studies.

The University administers the bursaries and grants on the Trust’s behalf. Students seeking financial assistance should contact the University’s Student Funding Centre. The Centre’s website provides details of the conditions and parameters applying to the bursaries and grants it handles.

Margaret Thomas

Margaret Thomas Scholarship: A special bursary was established by the Trustees in 2007 in memory of the late Margaret Thomas (nee Dent), who was a driving force behind the Trust. The bursary was changed to scholarship in 2011 to ensure that it could be retained by the student even if they later obtained other funding.

Margaret, who died in London in 2006 after a long illness, helped found the charity in 1991 and served as Chair and as Secretary. She is also fondly remembered as a lecturer and teacher of English, who inspired many students, pupils and colleagues.

The scholarship is awarded every year to a student of the humanities, in view of Margaret’s own background.

The first recipient of the Bursary was Valoshnee Gounden, who graduated with a Bachelor of Education degree focused on teaching English after completing her studies in 2009.

The first recipient of the scholarship in 2011 was Paige Franklin, a BA (Psychology) student. See the Students page for the full list of recipients.